619-777-8190 Call Today!
Denham Family Law, APC
A Client-Focused Family Law Specialist At Your Side

A Focus On The Best Interests Of Your Children

Under the Family Code, both parents of a minor child have an equal responsibility to support their child in the manner suitable to the child's circumstances. In addition to child support, both parties are required to equally share unreimbursed medical costs, child care costs related to employment or training and education needed to obtain employment.

Child support may seem like a straightforward process. While financial help eases the transition, the emotional issues cannot be discounted. For children of divorce, one household is becoming two. Their best interests deserve protection.

Initial San Diego Child Support Order

California has a statewide uniform guideline formula for determining how much support should be paid. If divorcing parents cannot agree on child support, the judge must decide the child support amount based on the guideline calculation.

The guideline amount is presumed to be correct. In very limited circumstances, the judge can order something other than the guideline amount.

The guideline calculation for San Diego child support depends on:

  • How much money the parents earn or can earn
  • The amount of other income each parent receives
  • How many children these parents have together
  • How much time each parent spends with their children
  • The actual tax filing status of each parent
  • Support of children from other relationships
  • Health insurance expenses
  • Mandatory union dues
  • Mandatory retirement contributions
  • The cost of sharing day care and uninsured health care costs
  • Other factors

Child support might also include the cost of special needs, such as:

  • Traveling for visitation from one parent to another
  • Educational expenses
  • Other special needs

Child support usually terminates upon the occurrence of one of the following events:

  • A child turns 18 years of age and is not a full-time high school student
  • Child turns 19 years of age (child support ends at 19 or high school graduation)
  • Child gets married or joins the military
  • Court ends the support order
  • The child dies before age 18

Parents may agree to support a child longer than the minimum time required. The court may also order that both parents continue to support a disabled adult child if that child cannot support himself or herself.

It is important to speak to a family law attorney about your child's right to support because there are laws relating to when the order may become effective. I have extensive experience handling initial child support orders.

Modification Of San Diego Child Support

Child support may be modified when there is a change in circumstances. For example, if you change the amount of time you spend with your child, lose your job, or the other parent receives an increase in income, you can ask for a change in your support.

Before you decide to ask for a change in child support, you should contact a lawyer at Denham Family Law, APC, to make sure it is worth it for you to go back to court.

Understand that the court still uses the California uniform guideline when modifying support. The amount the judge orders may be different based on information from the other parent or other factors that affect child support.

Take action today and start the process of divorce. Contact Denham Family Law, APC, in Chula Vista by calling 619-777-8190 or emailing me for a free consultation.

denham-family-law-concept-circle.png

Contact The Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Watch Donna Denham on Business Bros podcast